Users

Craft calls all member accounts of the system “users”.

The first user account is created during installation. If you stick with the Solo edition, this is the only account you will be able to create. If you need more you can upgrade to the Pro edition, which offers additional user accounts.

Admin Accounts

Admin accounts are special accounts that can do absolutely everything within Craft, including some things that there aren’t even explicit permissions for:

  • Everything within the Settings section
  • Make other users Admins (Craft Pro only)
  • Administrate other Admins (Craft Pro only)

The user account you create during installation is an admin by default.

Considering the amount of damage an admin can do, it’s strongly recommended that you be conservative with creating new admin accounts. Only do it if you trust that they know what they’re doing.

User Groups

If you have Craft Pro, you can create User Groups to help organize your site’s user accounts, as well as batch-set permissions on them.

To create a new User Group, go to Settings → Users and click the “New Group” button. You can give your group a Name and Handle, plus any permissions you want every user within the group to have.

After you create your groups, you can assign users to groups by going into their account settings and clicking on the Permissions tab.

Permissions

Craft Pro allows you to set permissions on users and groups, such as the ability to access the Control Panel, edit content within certain sections, etc. You can apply these permissions directly to user accounts as well as to user groups. When you apply permissions to a user group, all users that belong to that group will inherit them.

The permissions Craft comes with are:

PermissionHandle
Access the site when the system is offaccessSiteWhenSystemIsOff
Access the CPaccessCp
↳  Access the CP when the system is offaccessCpWhenSystemIsOff
↳  Perform Craft and plugin updatesperformUpdates
↳  Access [Plugin Name]accessPlugin-[PluginHandle]
Edit userseditUsers
↳  Register usersregisterUsers
↳  Assign permissionsassignUserPermissions
↳  Administrate usersadministrateUsers
Delete usersdeleteUsers
Edit [Site Name]editSite:[SiteID]
Edit entrieseditEntries:[SectionID]
↳  Create entriescreateEntries:[SectionID]
↳  Publish entriespublishEntries:[SectionID]
↳  Delete entriesdeleteEntries:[SectionID]
↳  Edit other authors’ entrieseditPeerEntries:[SectionID]
    ↳  Publish other authors’ entriespublishPeerEntries:[SectionID]
    ↳  Delete other authors’ entriesdeletePeerEntries:[SectionID]
↳  Edit other authors’ draftseditPeerEntryDrafts:[SectionID]
    ↳  Publish other authors’ draftspublishPeerEntryDrafts:[SectionID]
    ↳  Delete other authors’ draftsdeletePeerEntryDrafts:[SectionID]
Edit [Global Set Name]editGlobalSet:[GlobalSetID]
Edit [Category Group Name]editCategories:[CategoryGroupID]
View [Asset Volume Name]viewVolume:[VolumeID]
↳  Upload filessaveAssetInVolume:[VolumeID]
↳  Create subfolderscreateFoldersInVolume:[VolumeID]
↳  Remove filesdeleteFilesAndFoldersInVolume:[VolumeID]

Public Registration

Craft Pro has the option of allowing public user registration, which is disabled by default.

To enable public registration, go to Settings → Users → Settings, and check the “Allow public registration?” setting. With that checked, you will also have the ability to choose a default user group to which Craft will assign the publicly-registered users.

Once you set up your site to allow public user registration, the last step is to create a user registration form on your site’s front end.